01.06.23

He, too, carefully examines the menu: the mold

Mold Remediation: The choice of surface coating is crucial for a sustainable outcome.

Hygieneforum Wissensbeitrag Schimmelpilz

Basics

The three essential factors influencing the germination and growth of mold are:

  1. The presence of mold spores in the air. Spores naturally exist everywhere. If the concentration in the indoor air is relatively high compared to the outdoor air, the presence of a mold source in the space is to be expected.
  2. The availability of a suitable substrate. Excellent substrates include drywall and cellulose; mold grows poorly on clean glass.
  3. The moisture on the building surface. There can be various reasons for excessive localized moisture, such as high relative humidity combined with thermal bridges, water damage, inadequate insulation, etc.

When all three conditions are met simultaneously and in the same location, potentially harmful mold can develop.

The following discusses the topic of surfaces and surface conditions in relation to mold remediation. The choice of building surface material determines whether an optimal or suboptimal substrate for mold is introduced. Therefore, the restorer or builder has control over the mold’s “menu” when selecting the building surface. Depending on the choice, it may or may not appeal to the mold. In this context, professional literature refers to substrate groups.

  • Substrate Group 0 includes optimal substrates such as agar, full media, especially for laboratory use.
  • Substrate Group I consists of materials like drywall and fiber wallpapers.
  • Substrate Group II includes materials like mineral paints, metals, glass, or lime.

Molds germinate and grow most rapidly on materials belonging to Substrate Group 0. The level of surface contamination is also a significant factor. A surface categorized under Substrate Group II can become an optimal substrate for mold when it is dirty. In practice, elevated relative humidity on building surfaces is often attributed as the primary cause of mold occurrence. This humidity is determined by the ambient relative humidity, the building component temperature, and the surface condition of the building element.

The relative humidity in a room is influenced by the user’s ventilation behavior. In residential settings, it’s the occupants, while in the industrial sector, automatic ventilation systems play a role. The building component temperature is primarily influenced by geometry (geometric cold bridge), ambient temperatures (temperature differences between outside and inside), and the insulation value. When the surface temperature of the building component drops to or near the dew point, condensation forms on the surface (this process can be illustrated on a Mollier diagram). On a hydrophobic surface, this condensation remains on the surface, providing the basis for mold growth. Condensation can only be removed from the surface through evaporation, and the rate of evaporation depends, in part, on the wetted area. Water formed as droplets evaporates more slowly than water that has spread out like on a blotter. Choosing a hydrophilic surface condition, designed to break the surface tension of condensation (like a blotter), increases the rate of evaporation. This keeps the surface dry and deprives mold of a foundation for growth. Hydrophobic surfaces (e.g., dispersion paints) cause condensation to remain in the form of droplets on the surface, keeping it wet and moist for an extended period.

With knowledge of the building component temperature, humidity values in the environment, and the substrate group, it’s possible to predict the occurrence of mold using the Isopleth system developed by Sedlbauer [1]. In other words, it can be determined when the mold will germinate and at what rate it will grow. For example, in a room with a temperature of 20°C and 60% relative humidity, having a cold bridge with a wall temperature of 15°C and assuming a material from Substrate Group II, the relative humidity near the wall is now 82%. Under these conditions, it takes approximately 8 days for mold to germinate on a hydrophobic surface, and it grows at a rate of about 1 mm per day. If you were to use a material from Substrate Group 0, germination would occur in less than a day, and growth would be around 3 mm per day.

Generalized Isopleth System for spore germination (above) and mycelial growth (below) according to [1], applicable to all fungi encountered in construction. Spore germination time in days (above), after which germination is complete, and for mycelial growth (below), the expected growth rate in mm/day.

Implications for new construction or renovations

For exterior walls, especially in the areas of geometric thermal bridges, we recommend the application of anti-condensation coatings. This can significantly prevent the occurrence of surface-bound condensation that doesn’t evaporate. We do not recommend applying dispersion paints to these areas, as these paints are only mildly hydrophilic, with a low evaporation rate.

Implications for mold remediation

In practice, it is often observed (particularly in residential settings) that wallpapers are reapplied after mold removal for aesthetic reasons. However, from a mold prevention perspective, this approach is entirely incorrect. Wallpapers often consist of cellulose, which falls into Substrate Group I, making them a good substrate for mold. Even in cases of mold remediation, we strongly recommend using hydrophilic surface coatings. There are now products on the market that not only have moisture-absorbing properties but also break the surface tension of condensation, leading to significantly higher evaporation rates, known as anti-condensation coatings. The result is dry building surfaces.

A word on the topic of interior insulation

In our opinion, the installation of interior insulation is not necessarily advisable. From a thermal perspective, interior insulation results in the room’s heat being isolated from the exterior wall behind the insulation, while the exterior wall remains fully exposed to the cold outside temperatures. The desired effect of increasing the temperature of the building surface, thereby moving it away from the dew point, is often achieved to only a very small and therefore insignificant extent. What’s more concerning is the risk of hidden mold formation between the insulation and the exterior wall.

Summary

A crucial factor in mold prevention and remediation is the choice of the right surface coating. Working with hydrophilic materials, whether in new construction or after mold remediation, can be a significant step in ensuring that mold either does not form or does not reappear.

Literature:

  • [1] Neue Erkenntnisse zur Beurteilung von Schimmelpilzen und Stand der Normenbearbeitung. 2002 Klaus Sedlbauer et al.
Anzahl Likes:3

Tell us what you think

Be the first to comment this post.

You must be logged in to leave a comment.

Our platform partners share their knowledge and high-quality products on Hygieneforum.ch - we introduce our platform partners.

To the partnerships
Emergency
Hygiene emergency
Emergency
Hygiene emergency

01.06.23

Auch er schaut genau aufs Menu: der Schimmelpilz

Schimmelpilz Sanierung: Für ein nachhaltiges Resultat ist die Wahl der Oberflächenbeschichtung entscheidend.

Hygieneforum Wissensbeitrag Schimmelpilz

Grundlagen

Die drei wesentlichen Einflussfaktoren für das Auskeimen und das Wachstum von Schimmelpilz sind:

  1. die Existenz von Schimmelsporen in der Luft. Natürlicherweise kommen Sporen überall vor. Ist die Konzentration in der Raumluft relativ zur Aussenluft zu hoch, ist mit einer Schimmelpilz Quelle im Raum zu rechnen.
  2. das Vorhandensein eines Nährbodens (Substrat). Hervorragende Nährböden sind Gipskarton und Zellulose, auf sauberem Glas keimt der Schimmelpilz sehr schlecht aus.
  3. und die Feuchtigkeit auf der Bauteiloberfläche. Die Gründe für zu hohe lokale Feuchtigkeit können zahlreich sein: zu hohe relative Luftfeuchtigkeit kombiniert mit Wärmebrücken, Wasserschäden, mangelnde Isolation etc.

Sind alle drei Bedingungen gleichzeitig und am gleichen Ort erfüllt, so entsteht der potenziell gesundheitsgefährdende Schimmelpilz.

Eine graphische Zusammenfassung zeigt das folgende Bild:

Faktoren in roten Boxen sind vom Bauherrn / Architekten beeinflussbar
Faktoren in grünen Boxen sind von Bewohner beeinflussbar
Faktor in grauer Box ist nur bedingt beeinflussbar
Faktoren in blauer Box sind Faktoren, die von weiteren Faktoren abhängig sind.

Im Folgenden wird auf das Thema Oberflächen und Oberflächenbeschaffenheit in Zusammenhang mit Schimmelpilz-Sanierungen eingegangen.
Die Wahl des Materials von Bauteiloberflächen definiert, ob ein optimaler oder suboptimaler Nährboden für Schimmelpilze eingebaut wird. Bei der Wahl der Bauteiloberfläche hat also der Sanierer oder Bauherr das Menu für den Schimmelpilz in der Hand. Je nach Wahl schmeckt’s dem Schimmelpilz oder nicht. Die Fach-Literatur spricht in diesem Zusammenhang von Substratgruppen.

  • Die Substratgruppe 0 beinhaltet optimale Nährböden wie Agar, Vollmedien, insbesondere für die Verwendung im Labor
  • Substratgruppe I sind beispielsweise Gipskarton und Fasertapeten,
  • in die Substratgruppe II gehören Materialien wie Mineralfarben, Metalle, Glas oder Kalk.

Auf Materialien der Substratgruppe 0 keimen Schimmelpilze am schnellsten aus und wachsen mit der grössten Geschwindigkeit. Ein wesentlicher Faktor ist auch der Verschmutzungsgrad der Oberfläche. Eine Oberfläche, die der Substratgruppe II zugerechnet wird, kann in verschmutztem Zustand zu einem optimalen Nährboden für Schimmelpilze werden. Die Praxis zeigt, dass das Auftreten von überhöhter relativer Luftfeuchtigkeit auf Bauteiloberflächen als Hauptursache für das Auftreten von Schimmelpilzen verantwortlich gemacht werden kann. Diese Feuchtigkeit wird bestimmt durch die relative Umgebungsfeuchtigkeit, die Bauteiltemperatur und die Beschaffenheit der Bauteiloberfläche.

Die relative Luftfeuchtigkeit in einem Raum wird vom Lüftungsverhalten des Nutzers beeinflusst. Im Wohnbereich sind es die Bewohner, in der Industrie beispielsweise eine automatische Lüftung. Die Bauteiltemperatur ist im Wesentlichen von der Geometrie (geometrische Kältebrücke), den Umgebungstemperaturen (Temperaturdifferenzen Aussen / Innen) und dem Isolationswert abhängig. Sinkt die Oberflächentemperatur des Bauteils auf oder in der Nähe des Taupunktes, so entsteht Tauwasser auf der Oberfläche (im Mollier Diagramm kann dieser Vorgang aufgezeigt werden). Bei einer hydrophoben Oberflächenbeschaffenheit bleibt dieses Tauwasser auf der Oberfläche und bildet die Grundlage für eine Schimmelpilzbildung. Das Tauwasser kann nur mittels Verdampfung von der Oberfläche wegtransportiert werden. Die Verdampfungsrate ist unter anderem von der benetzen Fläche abhängig. Wasser als Tropfen ausgebildet, verdunstet weniger schnell, als Wasser welches sich wie auf einem Löschblatt „ausgebreitet“ hat. Wählt man eine hydrophile Oberflächenbeschaffenheit, die gleichzeitig so ausgestaltet ist, dass sie die Oberflächenspannung des Tauwassers bricht (Löschblatt), führt dies dazu, dass die Verdunstungsrate erhöht wird: die Oberfläche bleibt trocken und für ein Schimmelpilzwachstum fehlt eine Grundlage. Bei hydrophoben Oberflächen (z.B. Dispersionsanstriche) bleibt das Tauwasser in Form eines Tropfens auf der Oberfläche: die Oberfläche bleibt lange nass und feucht.

Kennt man die Bauteiltemperatur, die Feuchtigkeitswerte in der Umgebung und die Substratgruppe, so kann nach Sedlbauer [1] das Vorkommen von Schimmelpilzen mit Hilfe des von ihm entwickelten Isoplethensystems vorausgesagt werden, d.h. es kann eine Aussage getroffen werden, nach welcher Zeit der Pilz auskeimt und mit welcher Geschwindigkeit er wächst. Ein Beispiel: Ein Raum mit 20°C Raumtemperatur und 60% relativer Feuchtigkeit, hat eine Kältebrücke, mit einer Wandtemperatur von 15°C. Wir gehen von einem Material der Substratgruppe II aus. In der Nähe der Wand sind jetzt 82% relative Feuchtigkeit. Bei einer hydrophoben Oberfläche dauert es bei diesen Bedingungen ca. 8 Tag bis der Schimmelpilz ausgekeimt ist, und er wächst mit ca. 1 mm pro Tag!
Nimmt man nun ein Material der Substratgruppe 0, dann erfolgt die Auskeimung nach weniger als einem Tag und das Wachstum beträgt ca. 3mm pro Tag.

Verallgemeinertes Isoplethensystem für Sporenauskeimung (oben) bzw. für Myzelwachstum (unten) nach [1], das für alle im Bau auftretenden Pilze gilt. Sporenauskeimungszeit in Tagen (oben), nach welcher eine Keimung abgeschlossen ist und für das Myzelwachstum (unten) die zu erwartende Wachstumsrate in mm/Tag.

Konsequenzen für den Neubau oder für Renovationen:

An Aussenwänden, jedoch aber im Bereich von geometrischen Wärmebrücken empfehlen wir die Applikation von Antikondensat-Beschichtungen. Das Aufkommen von Tauwasser, das an der Oberfläche bleibt und nicht verdunstet, kann so zu einem wesentlichen Teil verhindert werden. Die Applikation von Dispersionsfarben an die oben erwähnten Stellen empfehlen wir nicht, da diese Farben nur in einem geringen Masse hydrophil sind, respektive eine geringe Verdunstungsrate aufweisen.

Konsequenzen bei der Schimmelpilzsanierung:

Oft trifft man in der Praxis Fälle an (insbesondere im Wohnbereich), bei denen nach der Schimmelpilz Entfernung wieder Tapeten appliziert wurden. Diese Vorgehensweise genügt zwar ästhetischen Gesichtspunkten, ist jedoch aus Sicht der Schimmelpilzprävention völlig falsch. Tapeten bestehen oft aus Cellulose, die der Substratgruppe I zuzuordnen ist, und somit einen guten Nährboden für Schimmelpilze darstellen.
Auch im Fall von Schimmelpilzsanierungen empfehlen wir dringend die Verwendung von hydrophilen Oberflächenbeschichtungen. Es gibt heute Produkte auf den Markt, die neben einer Speicherwirkung auch die Oberflächenspannung des Tauwassers brechen, was zu signifikant höheren Verdunstungsraten führt, sogenannte Antikondensat Beschichtungen. Das Resultat sind trockene Bauteiloberflächen.

Ein Wort zum Thema Innen-Isolation

Das Anbringen einer Innenisolation ist unserer Meinung nach nicht unbedingt sinnvoll. Wärmetechnisch führt eine Innenisolation dazu, dass die Raumwärme von der hinter der Isolation liegenden Aussenwand isoliert wird, die Aussenwand aber vollständig der kalten Aussentemperatur ausgesetzt bleibt.
Der gewünschte Effekt, dass sich die Temperatur der Bauteiloberfläche erhöht, und somit vom Taupunkt entfernt, wird oft nur in einem sehr geringen und daher unwesentlichen Ausmass erreicht. Weit schlimmer ist die Gefahr einzustufen, dass sich zwischen der Isolation und der Aussenwand, im versteckten, Schimmelpilz bilden kann.

Fazit

Ein wichtiger Faktor in der Prävention und in der Sanierung von Schimmelpilzfällen ist die Wahl der richtigen Oberflächenbeschichtung. Wird mit hydrophilen Materialien gearbeitet, kann bei Neubauten oder nach Schimmelpilzsanierungen eine wesentliche Voraussetzung geschaffen werden, dass Schimmelpilz gar nicht entsteht oder nicht wieder entstehen kann.

Quelle:

  • [1] Neue Erkenntnisse zur Beurteilung von Schimmelpilzen und Stand der Normenbearbeitung. 2002 Klaus Sedlbauer et al.
Anzahl Likes:2

Sagen Sie uns Ihre Meinung

Schreiben Sie den ersten Kommentar zu diesem Beitrag.

Sie müssen angemeldet sein, um einen Kommentar zu hinterlassen.

Unsere Plattformpartner teilen ihr Wissen und ihre hochwertigen Produkte auf Hygieneforum.ch - wir stellen unsere Plattformpartner vor.

Zu den Partnerschaften
Notfall
Hygiene Notfall
Notfall
Hygiene Notfall