11.01.24

Cleaning contractor Rohr AG switches to granule cleaner

Since the summer of 2018, Rohr AG has been cleaning 34 buildings on the Petersplatz Campus of the University of Basel using Wetrok granule cleaners. This modern cleaning method saves such high process costs that Rohr AG decided to switch all its properties to granule cleaning by the end of December 2019. An interview about the advantages of granules, pioneering spirit, and smart cost calculation.

Granulat Beutel Und Flasche (2)

“When you include all savings and consider the costs in the long term, granule cleaners are more cost-effective than any conventional liquid cleaner”

Mr. Härry, Rohr AG is open to innovations and enjoys trying out new technologies. What requirements must an innovation meet?

That’s correct; the pioneering spirit has been with us for the past 20 years. We were one of the first cleaning companies in Switzerland to start using microfiber cloths. The most crucial criterion for innovations is, and remains, quality. The cleaning results with the innovation must be better or at least as good as the previous solution. The most significant process advantages are of no use if the cleaning quality isn’t up to par. At the end of the day, our customers judge us based on our promise: ‘guaranteed cleanliness.

Portrait of Peter Härry

How did the testing with Wetrok Granules come about?

We used to work with highly concentrated cleaning products, but the risk of overdosing was always present in our daily operations. That’s why we switched to ready-to-use cleaners. It worked well in practice, but we found the entire transport and storage process to be too cumbersome. We had been searching for a cleaning product that would be more space-efficient in both storage and transportation. Let’s be honest: with conventional liquid cleaners, you’re transporting over 90 percent unnecessary water around. In the spring of 2018, we heard about the newly introduced Wetrok Granules. Almost simultaneously, we won the University of Basel’s tender and became responsible for cleaning the West/East Cluster with 34 buildings. This is how we first started using Wetrok Granules at the University of Basel. Of course, we rigorously tested whether the granules were truly equivalent to liquid cleaners in terms of cleaning quality before that. The Granule line convinced us, especially in critical applications such as streak-free cleaning of glass or removing greasy fingerprints.

You mentioned that the granules require less space in storage and transportation – can you quantify this?

The storage and transportation process involves several steps for us. When we order cleaning products, they are first delivered to our headquarters in Hausen AG. Then our operations manager delivers the required quantities to our properties and stores them there. When the products are needed, they are loaded onto the cleaning carts by the team leaders and cleaning staff. As you can see, there is a significant amount of transportation and time involved. Not to mention the physical effort required for carrying the containers. I won’t disclose specific financial figures, but I can say this much: Thanks to Granuline, the transportation volume for the University of Basel properties alone is reduced by around 90 percent. This has a significant impact on our cost calculations.

Peter Härry with a canister and box in the storage room

For which applications do you use the granules at the University of Basel?

Perhaps it’s better to ask me what we DON’T use the granules for (laughs). We basically clean all surfaces and the entire sanitary area with granules. That means at the University of Basel: research laboratories, lecture hall desks, office spaces, entrance areas, plastic surfaces in the hallway, glass, mirrors, door handles, walls, stair railings – pretty much everything that isn’t oiled.

How is the application for cleaning staff?

We have never used a cleaning product that is easier to use than Wetrok Granules. Fill the bottle up to the marked line with water, add the granules, close the bottle, and shake it briefly – the cleaning solution is ready for use with a microfiber cloth. Thanks to the individually packaged ‘sachets,’ it’s always correctly dosed. This simple application is a significant advantage – especially since the cleaning staff in the University of Basel’s properties come from 15 different countries. Even those who don’t speak German perfectly understood how it works right away.

Were safety and ecological considerations also significant factors in the decision to use Granulines?

Definitely! As a responsible employer, it is our duty to ensure that our employees can work safely and ergonomically. With Granulines, we have achieved significant improvements in this regard: The granule bags can be easily opened along the perforation and poured into the bottle – eliminating the risk of eye or skin contact with chemicals. In addition, there are no fumes to inhale since the granule products are solvent-free. Moreover, the staff no longer has to carry heavy canisters but can equip the storage or cleaning cart with small, lightweight granule sticks. The use of Granulines also has a positive impact on our ecological footprint: Previously, we had to regularly supply small properties with low consumption with chemicals, which required numerous trips. Thanks to granules, many trips are no longer necessary. With one car trip, we can now supply these small properties with a six-month supply, saving time and reducing CO2 emissions at the same time.

Are there efforts to convert additional properties to granule cleaning?

Not just efforts. As of December 2019, we have converted our entire sanitary and surface cleaning to granules. This means that we clean all our maintenance cleaning customers throughout Switzerland with Wetrok Granules.

Even though granule cleaners are more expensive than liquid cleaners?

They are not! Those who only consider the acquisition costs are planning poorly and very short-sightedly. At Rohr AG, we always look at the total costs incurred by a product – or saved. The savings with Wetrok Granules are striking: Overall, up to 75 percent of storage and transportation costs can be reduced. It starts with the fact that our operations managers need much less time for the transport, distribution, and storage of chemicals – after all, five boxes of ‘granule sachets’ can be carried to the warehouse much faster than five canisters of liquid chemicals. Additionally, we save a lot of money because we have solved the problem of overdosing – the ‘one sachet for one bottle’ principle completely eliminates this major cost factor. No cleaning product has achieved this before! Above all, we save on safety installations: We would have had to equip around 600 properties with spill trays in the warehouse recently. Thanks to the granules, we don’t incur these costs at all: no liquid chemicals, no risk of spillage. So, we saved thousands of francs just on the spill trays. Last but not least, we were able to save costs in training effort – Granulines are so easy to use that a brief initial briefing is sufficient. We are convinced that when you include all savings and consider the costs in the long term, Granulines are even cheaper than any conventional liquid cleaner.

To which businesses would you specifically recommend Wetrok Granules?

For anyone who doesn’t want to carry around hundreds of liters of unnecessary water every day (laughs). No, seriously: Whether it’s a building cleaning company or an internal cleaning department of a nursing home – the granules have the potential to significantly improve cleaning processes in every area, making them more efficient, cost-effective, and enjoyable.

Anzahl Likes:0

Tell us what you think

Be the first to comment this post.

You must be logged in to leave a comment.

Our platform partners share their knowledge and high-quality products on Hygieneforum.ch - we introduce our platform partners.

To the partnerships
Emergency
Hygiene emergency
Emergency
Hygiene emergency

11.01.24

Les nettoyeurs de bâtiments Rohr AG passent aux nettoyants granulés

Depuis l'été 2018, Rohr AG nettoie 34 bâtiments du campus Petersplatz de l'Université de Bâle avec les nettoyants en granulés Wetrok. Cette méthode moderne de nettoyage permet d'économiser tellement de coûts de processus que Rohr AG a converti tous ses objets au nettoyage avec granulés fin décembre 2019. Un entretien sur les avantages du granulé, l'esprit pionnier et le calcul astucieux des coûts.

Granulat Beutel Und Flasche (2)

Si l’on inclut toutes les économies et qu’on examine les coûts sur le long terme, les nettoyants en granulés s’avèrent moins chers que n’importe quel nettoyant liquide traditionnel.

Monsieur Härry, Rohr AG est ouverte aux innovations et aime expérimenter de nouvelles technologies – quelles exigences une innovation doit-elle satisfaire ?

C’est exact, l’esprit pionnier était déjà présent chez nous il y a 20 ans. Nous étions en effet l’une des premières entreprises de nettoyage de bâtiments en Suisse à commencer à nettoyer avec des chiffons en microfibres. Le critère le plus important pour les innovations reste la qualité. Le résultat du nettoyage doit être meilleur ou au moins aussi bon que la solution précédente avec l’innovation. Les plus grands avantages en termes de processus ne servent à rien si la qualité du nettoyage n’est pas au rendez-vous. En fin de compte, nos clients nous jugent sur notre promesse : « garantie de propreté »

Portrait Peter Härry

Comment en êtes-vous venus à tester Wetrok Granuline ?

Auparavant, nous travaillions avec des produits de nettoyage hautement concentrés, mais il y avait toujours un risque de surdosage dans la pratique quotidienne. C’est pourquoi nous sommes passés à des nettoyants prêts à l’emploi. Cela fonctionnait bien en application, mais tout le processus de transport et de stockage était trop compliqué. Nous recherchions donc depuis longtemps un produit de nettoyage qui soit plus compact à stocker et à transporter. Soyons honnêtes : avec les nettoyants liquides traditionnels, on transporte plus de 90 % d’eau inutile. Au printemps 2018, nous avons entendu parler pour la première fois de la nouvelle Wetrok Granuline. Presque en même temps, nous avons remporté l’appel d’offres de l’Université de Bâle et sommes désormais responsables du nettoyage des 34 bâtiments du cluster Ouest/Est. C’est ainsi que nous avons commencé à utiliser Wetrok Granuline à l’Université de Bâle. Bien sûr, nous avons d’abord testé minutieusement si le granulé était vraiment équivalent aux nettoyants liquides en termes de qualité de nettoyage. En particulier pour les applications critiques, comme le nettoyage sans traces de verre ou l’élimination des empreintes grasses, la ligne de granulés nous a convaincus.

Vous avez mentionné que les granulés occupent moins d’espace en entrepôt et lors du transport. Pouvez-vous quantifier cela ?

L’entreposage et la manipulation des produits impliquent plusieurs étapes dans notre processus. Lorsque nous commandons des produits de nettoyage, ils sont d’abord livrés à notre siège social à Hausen AG. Ensuite, notre chef d’intervention livre les quantités nécessaires à nos sites et les stocke sur place. Lorsque les produits sont nécessaires, ils sont chargés sur les chariots de nettoyage par les chefs d’équipe et les agents de nettoyage. Comme vous pouvez le voir, il y a beaucoup de travail de transport et de temps investi dans ce processus, sans oublier l’effort physique nécessaire pour déplacer les bidons. Sans donner de chiffres financiers, je peux dire que grâce aux granulés, le volume de transport diminue d’environ 90 pour cent pour les sites de l’Université de Bâle. Cela a un impact significatif sur la comptabilité des coûts.

Peter Härry avec un bidon et une boîte dans l’entrepôt

Pour quelles applications utilisez-vous les granulés à l’Université de Bâle ?

Bien sûr, je peux vous poser cette question : Pour quelles utilisations n’utilisez-vous PAS les granulés ? (rires). En effet, nous utilisons généralement les granulés pour nettoyer toutes les surfaces et l’ensemble des installations sanitaires. Cela signifie à l’Université de Bâle : les laboratoires de recherche, les pupitres dans les amphithéâtres, les bureaux, les espaces d’entrée, les surfaces en plastique dans les couloirs, le verre, les miroirs, les poignées de porte, les murs, les rampes d’escalier – en fait, à peu près tout ce qui n’est pas huilé.

Comment se déroule l’application pour les agents de nettoyage ?

Nous n’avons encore jamais utilisé de produit de nettoyage plus simple à appliquer que les Wetrok Granuline. Il suffit de remplir la bouteille jusqu’à la marque avec de l’eau, d’ajouter les granulés, de fermer la bouteille et de secouer brièvement – et la solution de nettoyage est prête à être utilisée avec un chiffon en microfibre. Grâce aux “sachets” individuellement emballés, la dose est toujours correcte. Cette application facile est un grand avantage – en particulier parce que les agents de nettoyage proviennent de 15 pays différents dans les installations de l’Université de Bâle. Même ceux qui ne maîtrisent pas parfaitement la langue allemande ont immédiatement compris comment cela fonctionne.

Les considérations de sécurité et d’écologie ont-elles également joué un rôle décisif dans le choix des Granuline ?

Absolument ! En tant qu’employeur responsable, il est de notre devoir de veiller à ce que nos employés puissent travailler en toute sécurité et de manière ergonomique. Avec les Granuline, nous avons réalisé des améliorations significatives à cet égard : les sachets de granulés s’ouvrent facilement le long de la perforation et peuvent être versés dans la bouteille sans aucun contact avec les yeux ou la peau. De plus, l’inhalation de vapeurs est éliminée car les produits à base de granulés sont exempts de solvants. De plus, le personnel n’a plus à transporter de lourds bidons, mais peut équiper l’entrepôt ou le chariot de nettoyage avec de petits bâtons de granulés légers. Les Granuline ont également un impact positif sur notre empreinte écologique : alors qu’auparavant, nous devions régulièrement fournir de la chimie même aux petits objets à faible consommation, de nombreux trajets sont désormais inutiles grâce aux granulés. Avec un seul trajet en voiture, nous pouvons maintenant approvisionner ces petits objets avec une réserve de six mois, ce qui nous permet d’économiser du temps et de réduire nos émissions de CO2.

Y a-t-il des efforts en cours pour convertir d’autres installations au nettoyage par granulés ?

Pas seulement des efforts. À partir de décembre 2019, nous avons converti tout notre nettoyage sanitaire et des surfaces aux granulés. Cela signifie que nous utilisons désormais les Wetrok Granuline pour le nettoyage dans l’ensemble de la Suisse chez tous nos clients de nettoyage d’entretien.

Bien que les nettoyants sous forme de granulés soient plus chers que les nettoyants liquides ?

Ce n’est pas du tout le cas ! Ceux qui ne voient que les coûts d’acquisition font de mauvais plans à court terme. Chez Rohr AG, nous examinons toujours l’ensemble des coûts engendrés par un produit – ou économisés. Avec les Granulines de Wetrok, les économies sont frappantes : au total, jusqu’à 75 pour cent des coûts de stockage et de transport peuvent être réduits. Cela commence par le fait que nos responsables de mission ont beaucoup moins besoin de temps pour le transport, la distribution et le stockage des produits chimiques – après tout, cinq cartons de “sachets de granulés” sont beaucoup plus rapides à transporter dans l’entrepôt que cinq bidons de produit chimique liquide. De plus, nous économisons beaucoup d’argent car nous avons résolu le problème des surdosages – le principe “un sachet pour une bouteille” élimine complètement ce grand facteur de coût. Aucun autre produit de nettoyage n’avait réussi cela auparavant ! Surtout, nous économisons sur les installations de sécurité : nous aurions récemment dû équiper environ 600 objets de bacs de rétention dans l’entrepôt. Grâce aux granulés, ces coûts ne nous incombent pas du tout : pas de produit chimique liquide, pas de risque de fuite. Ainsi, nous avons économisé des milliers de francs uniquement sur les bacs de rétention. Enfin, nous avons également pu économiser des coûts de formation – les Granulines sont si faciles à utiliser qu’une brève introduction initiale suffit. Nous sommes convaincus : si l’on inclut toutes les économies et que l’on examine les coûts à long terme, les Granulines sont même moins chères que n’importe quel nettoyant liquide conventionnel.

À quelles entreprises recommanderiez-vous spécifiquement l’utilisation de Wetrok Granuline ?

Pour toutes les entreprises qui ne veulent plus transporter quotidiennement des centaines de litres d’eau inutiles (rires). Non, sérieusement : Que ce soit pour une entreprise de nettoyage de bâtiments ou le service de nettoyage interne d’une maison de retraite, les granulés ont le potentiel d’améliorer considérablement les processus de nettoyage dans tous les domaines, en les rendant plus efficaces, plus économiques et plus agréables.

Anzahl Likes:0

Donnez-nous votre avis

Ecrire le premier commentaire sur cet article.

Sie müssen angemeldet sein, um einen Kommentar zu hinterlassen.

Urgence
Urgence hygiène
Urgence
Urgence hygiène