21.02.24

What materials and raw materials are used in cleaning textiles?

The world of cleaning textiles is often viewed somewhat disparagingly. Cleaning cloths are colloquially referred to as 'rags' and most non-specialists still think that a fringed mop is the appliance of choice for floor cleaning. However, times have changed massively.

Cottonfield

The cleaning sector is not known as innovation-driven as certain other industries. The tried and tested is preserved. Innovative novelties are tested somewhat cautiously at first. However, high-quality high-tech materials are used in cleaning textiles these days. Processing is complex and is carried out according to the latest industry standards. The end products are effective tools that have nothing in common with the old dusting cloths and cotton fringed mops.

The raw materials

Cotton fibers continue to play an important role. Cotton fibers are soft and absorbent, which is essential in some areas of application. However, the water consumption for the production of cotton is very high and the use of pesticides in cotton cultivation is also considerable. Therefore, the fiber no longer really fits into the modern understanding of sustainable raw materials.

In addition to cotton, cellulose is also an important plant-based raw material. Cellulose is the largest component of plant cell walls. As wood is the highest quality source of cellulose, one would think that cellulose can be used without any major concerns. However, as cellulose is also a by-product of cotton production, this puts the positive ecological balance into perspective. Reputable sustainability labels should therefore be taken into account.

Linen is mostly used as half-linen, i.e. mixed with 50% cotton, in dish drying cloths.However, linen fibers are hardly used in cleaning textiles today.

Polyester and polyamide are the main raw materials for the production of microfibers in various blending ratios, depending on the area of application. Microfibers are the most important fibers in professional cleaning today. The specific properties of these fibers are predestined for use in the cleaning sector. The advantages of these fibers are explained in the following chapter.

Polyurethane is used in the form of sponges, coating on microfiber cloths (foam) as a substitute for the classic chamois leather and sometimes also as a mixed component in scrubbing machine pads.

Bamboo is a new raw material in the cleaning textiles sector. As the bamboo plant (sweet grass) usually grows back quickly, it is cheap to produce and also has a positive ecological balance. Bamboo grows in forests with a capacity of 10 to 15 tons of biomass per year under sustainable management. However, it should be noted that bamboo fiber is actually too short to be spun. Therefore, cellulose is first produced from the raw material bamboo and then a viscose fiber is obtained. This is then spun and processed into cleaning textiles.

Microfiber as an important raw material in cleaning textiles

What exactly is a microfiber? By definition, a microfiber is a fiber that weighs just 1 gram per 100 km length. It is made either from pure polyester or blended with polyamide. The mixing ratio depends on the intended use of the end product.

There are two main steps in the manufacturing process. First, the actual spinning takes place. Here, very pure raw materials are spun at high speed into a so-called multifilament. These are intertwined fiber strands that are produced as a primary product. These multifilaments must be split for use in the final product.

The splitting of the multifilament creates the microfiber as we know it and as it is commonly used in the cleaning industry today. The microfiber can only show its superiority through splitting. It can then pick up dirt and have an abrasive effect on the surface. There are three main methods for splitting: water jet splitting, steam splitting and thermal splitting. The thermal gritting process is most commonly used.

Effect of the microfiber

Due to the magnetic effect of the microfiber on dust (thanks to the raw materials polyester and polyamide), it binds it to itself. It is also very good at absorbing liquids as it has countless pores and air chambers. The liquid can penetrate these and is stored in the cleaning textile. During the cleaning process, the moisture is then released again and is available for cleaning.

Summary

Microfiber is the most important type of fiber used in cleaning textiles today. It is usually made from polyester or blends of polyester and polyamide. However, the other raw materials still have their justification as starting materials for specific applications and in special products (e.g. dust wipes for high-gloss surfaces). The ecological balance is different for all raw materials and should also be taken into account.

Anzahl Likes:0

Tell us what you think

Be the first to comment this post.

You must be logged in to leave a comment.

Our platform partners share their knowledge and high-quality products on Hygieneforum.ch - we introduce our platform partners.

To the partnerships
Emergency
Hygiene emergency
Emergency
Hygiene emergency

21.02.24

Quels sont les matériaux et les matières premières utilisés pour le nettoyage des textiles ?

Le monde des textiles de nettoyage est souvent considéré avec un certain mépris. Les chiffons de nettoyage sont familièrement appelés "guenilles" et la plupart des non-spécialistes pensent encore qu'une serpillière à franges est l'appareil de choix pour le nettoyage des sols. Pourtant, les temps ont bien changé.

Cottonfield

Le secteur du nettoyage n’est pas réputé pour être aussi innovant que certaines autres industries. On y préserve ce qui a fait ses preuves. Les nouveautés sont d’abord testées avec une certaine prudence. Toutefois, des matériaux high-tech de haute qualité sont aujourd’hui utilisés pour le nettoyage des textiles. Le traitement est complexe et s’effectue selon les normes industrielles les plus récentes. Les produits finis sont des outils efficaces qui n’ont rien à voir avec les anciens chiffons à épousseter et les serpillières à franges en coton.

Les matières premières

Les fibres de coton continuent à jouer un rôle important. Les fibres de coton sont douces et absorbantes, ce qui est essentiel dans certains domaines d’application. Cependant, la consommation d’eau pour la production de coton est très élevée et l’utilisation de pesticides pour la culture du coton est également considérable. Par conséquent, la fibre ne correspond plus vraiment à l’idée que l’on se fait aujourd’hui des matières premières durables.

Outre le coton, la cellulose est également une matière première végétale importante. La cellulose est le composant le plus important des parois cellulaires des plantes. Le bois étant la source de cellulose de la plus haute qualité, on pourrait penser que la cellulose peut être utilisée sans problème majeur. Toutefois, la cellulose étant également un sous-produit de la production de coton, le bilan écologique positif s’en trouve relativisé. Il convient donc de tenir compte des labels de durabilité réputés.

Le lin est surtout utilisé comme demi-lin, c’est-à-dire mélangé à 50 % de coton, dans les torchons pour sécher la vaisselle.

Le polyester et le polyamide sont les principales matières premières pour la production de microfibres dans différents rapports de mélange, en fonction du domaine d’application. Les microfibres sont aujourd’hui les fibres les plus importantes dans le domaine du nettoyage professionnel. Les propriétés spécifiques de ces fibres les prédestinent à une utilisation dans le secteur du nettoyage. Les avantages de ces fibres sont expliqués dans le chapitre suivant.

Le polyuréthane est utilisé sous forme d’éponges, de revêtement sur les chiffons en microfibres (mousse) en remplacement de la peau de chamois classique et parfois aussi comme composant mixte dans les tampons de machines à laver.

Le bambou est une nouvelle matière première dans le secteur des textiles de nettoyage. Comme la plante de bambou (foin d’odeur) repousse généralement rapidement, elle est peu coûteuse à produire et présente un bilan écologique positif. Le bambou pousse dans des forêts d’une capacité de 10 à 15 tonnes de biomasse par an dans le cadre d’une gestion durable. Il convient toutefois de noter que la fibre de bambou est trop courte pour être filée. C’est pourquoi la cellulose est d’abord produite à partir de la matière première qu’est le bambou, puis une fibre de viscose est obtenue. Celle-ci est ensuite filée et transformée en textiles de nettoyage.

La microfibre, une matière première importante pour les textiles de nettoyage

Qu’est-ce qu’une microfibre ? Par définition, une microfibre est une fibre qui ne pèse qu’un gramme par 100 km de long. Elle est fabriquée à partir de polyester pur ou mélangée à du polyamide. Le rapport de mélange dépend de l’utilisation prévue du produit final.

Le processus de fabrication comporte deux étapes principales. Tout d’abord, le filage proprement dit. Des matières premières très pures sont filées à grande vitesse pour former ce que l’on appelle un multifilament. Il s’agit de brins de fibres entrelacés qui sont produits comme un produit primaire. Ces multifilaments doivent être divisés pour être utilisés dans le produit final.

La division du multifilament crée la microfibre telle que nous la connaissons et telle qu’elle est couramment utilisée dans l’industrie du nettoyage aujourd’hui. La microfibre ne peut montrer sa supériorité qu’en se divisant. Elle peut alors ramasser la saleté et avoir un effet abrasif sur la surface. Il existe trois méthodes principales de fendage : le fendage par jet d’eau, le fendage à la vapeur et le fendage thermique. Le processus d’abrasion thermique est le plus couramment utilisé.

Grâce à l’effet magnétique de la microfibre sur la poussière (grâce aux matières premières que sont le polyester et le polyamide), elle la fixe sur elle-même. Elle absorbe également très bien les liquides, car elle possède d’innombrables pores et chambres d’air. Le liquide peut y pénétrer et est stocké dans le textile de nettoyage. Lors du processus de nettoyage, l’humidité est à nouveau libérée et disponible pour le nettoyage.

Résumé

La microfibre est le principal type de fibre utilisé aujourd’hui pour le nettoyage des textiles. Elle est généralement fabriquée à partir de polyester ou de mélanges de polyester et de polyamide. Toutefois, les autres matières premières ont toujours leur raison d’être en tant que matières premières pour des applications spécifiques et dans des produits spéciaux (par exemple, les lingettes anti-poussière pour les surfaces très brillantes). Le bilan écologique est différent pour toutes les matières premières et doit également être pris en compte.

Anzahl Likes:0

Donnez-nous votre avis

Ecrire le premier commentaire sur cet article.

Sie müssen angemeldet sein, um einen Kommentar zu hinterlassen.

Urgence
Urgence hygiène
Urgence
Urgence hygiène