31.03.23

Classification of cleanrooms according to ISO

In general, a cleanroom can be defined as a space that is constructed and designed to control the level of particle contamination of various sizes per unit volume in the air within specific zones. The classification required for a cleanroom is detailed in the following report.

Reinraum Reinigungen

ISO, the International Organization for Standardization, is an independent international association of standardization bodies with members from 167 countries. It is a non-governmental organization based in Geneva, Switzerland. ISO has published an extensive series of standards, including those related to cleanrooms. Cleanrooms play a crucial role in various high-tech industries, enabling processes that would otherwise be impossible. They are utilized in industries such as semiconductor manufacturing, medical technology, laboratories, aerospace, food production, chemical and pharmaceutical manufacturing, and the automotive industry. Cleanrooms are also essential in nanotechnology, although they are regulated by a different standard (ISO/TC 229 Nanotechnologies).

Cleanroom clasification

The required classification for a cleanroom depends on the demands placed on the product being produced. Naturally, cleanrooms become more cost-intensive as the requirements and classification level increase. In general, a cleanroom can be defined as a constructed and designed space intended to control the level of particle contamination of various sizes per unit volume in the air within specific zones [1]. Ventilation systems that regulate parameters such as temperature, humidity, air flow, and air purity play a significant role in this control.

The following standards are of utmost importance for cleanrooms:

  • ISO 14644
  • ISO 14698
  • GMP EU Classification

For the United States, the FDA defines cleanroom norms, especially for pharmaceutical applications and the food industry [2]. Additionally, GMP classification distinguishes between at-rest and operational states [3]. The at-rest state refers to the absence of personnel in the cleanroom, with all equipment in standby mode [1,3]. Cleanroom users are mainly concerned with the specifications during operation. It’s important to note that particles can enter the cleanroom not only from the outside but also from objects and individuals inside, emitting and circulating contaminants. The latest revision of Annex 1 places more emphasis on examining garments and personnel inside the cleanroom, including proper movement within the cleanroom. Furthermore, requirements for cleanroom garments are more precisely specified (correct sizing, how to wear cleanroom attire, etc.). The document now also describes items that are prohibited in a cleanroom, such as guidelines for handling mobile devices, while emphasizing the importance of training [3].

The following table is based on the tabular classification according to ISO 14644-1: 2015 – Part 1: Classification of air cleanliness by particle concentration [1]. A slightly different presentation is used to facilitate better comparison between classifications. It’s important to note that the concentrations are cumulative. The columns in each iso-class do not represent a particle size distribution but rather the maximum allowable count. So, only one column applies. For iso-classes > ISO 6, smaller particles (<0.3 µm) are no longer specified due to their high quantity, making them difficult to count. Particles smaller than 0.1 µm also cannot be considered.

Figure 1: The graphical representation depicts the maximum permissible particle sizes per m3 for the respective cleanroom classifications defined by ISO 1466. The y-axis is exponentially scaled. Only particles ranging from 0.1mm to 5mm are considered for cleanroom classification purposes.

To get a sense of the classifications, it’s helpful to put the size ratios into perspective. One way to do this is by comparing the size of a tennis ball to that of a grain of salt. If you mentally shrink the tennis ball to the size of the grain of salt while simultaneously shrinking the grain of salt, you’d find yourself in the range of a few micrometers:

size in mmsize in µm
Tennis ball100105
grain of salt1103
see examples in the following images0.0110
Table 1: Examples of Size Ratios Across 5 Orders of Magnitude

The following images illustrate some examples in 1 µm [4]:

AFM image of quantum dots. The depicted quantum dots are the “spheres” with a radius of a few nanometers.
Image size: 1 µm.
Butterfly wing measured with AFM.
Image size: 10 µm.
AFM image of a living rat cell in culture.
Image size: 60 µm.

Literature

  • [1] ISO 14644-1:2015
  • [2] Gaurav A. Chaudhari, Suhas H. Sarje: Clean Room Classification for Pharmaceutical Industry. International Journal of Engineering and Technical Research (IJETR), vol 3, 4, 2015
  • [3] Tim Sandle: EU GMP Annex 1: What The ‚Final‘ Draft Reveals. GXP, vol 24, 2, 2020
  • [4] Bilder gedruckt mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Nanosurf AG, Liestal. www.nanosurf.com.
Anzahl Likes:0

Tell us what you think

Be the first to comment this post.

You must be logged in to leave a comment.

Our platform partners share their knowledge and high-quality products on Hygieneforum.ch - we introduce our platform partners.

To the partnerships
Emergency
Hygiene emergency
Emergency
Hygiene emergency

31.03.23

Klassifizierung von Reinräumen nach ISO

Generell lässt sich ein Reinraum definieren als ein Raum der konstruiert und designt wurde, um den Grad an Partikelverunreinigungen von verschiedenen Partikelgrössen pro Volumen in der Luft in bestimmten Zonen zu kontrollieren. Welche Klassierung für einen Reinraum benötigt wird, erfahren Sie im folgenden Bericht.

Reinraum Reinigungen

ISO, die internationale Organisation für Normung, ist eine unabhängige, internationale Vereinigung von Normungsorganisationen mit Mitgliedern aus 167 Ländern. Es handelt es sich dabei um einen Verein nach Schweizer Recht mit Sitz in Genf. Die ISO hat eine ganze Serie von Standards herausgegeben. Unter anderem auch solche, die sich mit Reinräumen beschäftigt. Reinräume ermöglichen eine grosse Zahl von High Tech Industrien, die ohne diese nicht möglich wären. Sie werden beispielsweise in der Halbleiterindustrie, in der Medizintechnik und Laboratorien, in der Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie, in der Lebensmittelindustrie, der Chemie- und Pharmaindustrie oder der Automobilindustrie eingesetzt.  Auch in der Nanotechnologie benötigt man Reinräume. Diese werden aber mit einem anderen Standard geregelt (ISO/ TC 229 Nanotechnologies).

Reinraum Klassifizierung

Welche Klassierung für einen Reinraum benötigt wird, hängt von den Anforderungen an das Produkt, welches produziert wird, ab. Natürlich werden die Reinräume kostenintensiver, je höher die Anforderungen an diesen sind und je höher deren Klassierung ist. Generell lässt sich ein Reinraum definieren als ein Raum der konstruiert und designt wurde, um den Grad an Partikelverunreinigungen von verschiedenen Partikelgrössen pro Volumen in der Luft in bestimmten Zonen zu kontrollieren [1]. Dabei spielen die Lüftungen, die die Parameter wie Temperatur, Luftfeuchtigkeit, die Strömung und die Reinheit der Luft regeln eine grosse Rolle.

Die folgenden Standards sind für Reinräume die wichtigsten:

  • ISO 14644
  • ISO 14698
  • GMP EU Classification

Die FDA definiert für die USA die Norm der Reinräume, zum Beispiel für pharmazeutische Anwendungen und für die Lebensmittelindustrie [2]. Ausserdem unterscheidet die Klassierung nach GMP zwischen Ruhezustand und in Betrieb [3]. Als Ruhezustand gilt, wenn sich keine Person im Reinraum befindet und alle Geräte im Stand-by-Modus sind [1,3].  Der Benutzer des Reinraumes ist vor allem an der Spezifikation des Reinraumes im Betrieb interessiert. Dabei gilt es zu beachten, dass nicht nur Partikel von aussen in den Reinraum dringen können, sondern auch durch die Gegenstände und Personen, die sich im Reinraum befinden emittiert und in Umlauf gebracht werden. In der letzten Revision von Annex 1 wurde mehr Wert auf die Prüfung der Kleider und des Personals gelegt, die sich im Reinraum aufhalten, beispielsweise wie man sich einem Reinraum bewegen soll.  Ebenfalls werden die Anforderungen an die Reinraumkleider genauer spezifiziert (die richtige Grösse tragen, wie die Reinraumkleider getragen werden dürfen etc.). Es wird nun auch beschrieben, was nicht in einen Reinraum gebracht werden darf und regelt zum Beispiel den Umgang von Mobilgeräten und streicht die Wichtigkeit von Trainings heraus. [3]

Die folgende Tabelle basiert auf der tabellarischen Klassierung nach ISO 14644-1: 2015- Part 1: Classification of air cleanliness by particle concentration [1]. Es wurde nur eine etwas andere Darstellung gewählt, um die Klassierungen besser einander gegenüberzustellen. Wichtig ist dabei zu beachten, dass die Konzentrationen kumulativ gemeint sind. Die Säulen in jeder Isoklasse repräsentieren also nicht eine Partikelgrössenverteilung, sondern die maximal erlaubte Anzahl. Es gilt also nur eine Säule. Für die Isoklassen > ISO 6 werden kleinere Partikel (<0,3 µm) nicht mehr spezifiziert, weil es zu viele wären, um diese noch zählen zu können. Kleinere Partikel als 0,1 µm können ebenfalls nicht mehr berücksichtigt werden.

Abbildung 1: Die graphische Darstellung zeigt die maximal zulässigen Partikelgrössen pro m3 für die entsprechenden nach ISO 1466 definierten Reinräume. Die y-Achse ist exponentiell skaliert. Es werden nur Partikel zwischen 0,1mm und 5 mm für die Klassierung von Reinräumen untersucht.

Um ein Gefühl für die Klassierungen zu erhalten, sollte man die Grössenverhältnisse in Beziehung setzen. Hierzu kann man einen Tennisball mit der Grösse eines Salzkorns vergleichen. Wenn man nun den Tennisball gedanklich auf die Grösse des Salzkornes schrumpft und das Salzkorn gleichzeitig mitschrumpft, dann befindet man sich im Bereich von einigen Micrometern:

Grösse in mmGrösse in µm
Tennisball100105
Salzkorn1103
Beispiele siehe folgende Abbildung0.0110
Tabelle 1: Beispiele von Grössenverhältnissen über 5 Grössenordnungen

Die folgenden Bilder illustrieren einige Beispiele im Mikrometerbereich (oder Nanometer im Falle der Quantendots [4]).

AFM-Bild von Quantendots. Die Quantendots sind die abgebildeten «Kugeln» mit einem Radius von wenigen nm. Bildgrösse 1 µm.
Schmetterlingsflügel gemessen mit AFM. Bildgrösse 10 µm.
AFM-Bild einer lebenden Zelle einer Ratte in Zellkultur. Bildgrösse 60 µm.

Referenzen

  • [1] ISO 14644-1:2015
  • [2] Gaurav A. Chaudhari, Suhas H. Sarje: Clean Room Classification for Pharmaceutical Industry. International Journal of Engineering and Technical Research (IJETR), vol 3, 4, 2015
  • [3] Tim Sandle: EU GMP Annex 1: What The ‚Final‘ Draft Reveals. GXP, vol 24, 2, 2020
  • [4] Bilder gedruckt mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Nanosurf AG, Liestal. www.nanosurf.com.
Anzahl Likes:0

Sagen Sie uns Ihre Meinung

Schreiben Sie den ersten Kommentar zu diesem Beitrag.

Sie müssen angemeldet sein, um einen Kommentar zu hinterlassen.

Unsere Plattformpartner teilen ihr Wissen und ihre hochwertigen Produkte auf Hygieneforum.ch - wir stellen unsere Plattformpartner vor.

Zu den Partnerschaften
Notfall
Hygiene Notfall
Notfall
Hygiene Notfall