26.01.24

Disinfectant tolerance: extent and impact on performance

Antimicrobial agents have been used for over 100 years, including antibiotics for animals, plants, and humans, as well as disinfectants for surfaces and skin. Some microbes develop resistance to these agents, raising concerns about the development of resistance to biocides. While antibiotic resistance is well documented, tolerance to disinfectants is less understood. In this article, we explain the difference between antibiotic and disinfectant resistance, as well as their impacts.

Shutterstock 274285679

Differences between antibiotic and disinfectant resistance

In the media, and to a lesser extent in other literature, hardly any distinction is made between resistance to different classes of antimicrobials, leading to confusion about whether resistance to one agent is related to resistance to other agents. Many believe that resistance to antibiotics is the same as resistance to disinfectants and detergents and that a solution that addresses resistance to one antimicrobial agent also applies to the others. In contrast to antibiotics, resistance problems with disinfectants occur much less frequently, as the two are based on different mechanisms. While antibiotics act specifically on certain biological processes in the metabolism of bacteria, disinfectants act non-specifically on the entire biological structures of the cell. It is therefore not surprising that the bacteria can change these specific sites of attack (of antibiotics) through mutations. However, the bacterial cells are much less able to adapt and protect themselves against the attack of disinfectants.

What causes antibacterial tolerance and how does it develop?

Even if the adaptations of microbes to disinfectants are less well described, some mechanisms are known that enable a certain degree of tolerance. However, a distinction must first be made between resistance and tolerance. Tolerance is often a lower level of insensitivity that is rarely complete. This low level of insensitivity is distinguished from resistance, which is a high level of insensitivity and can be equivalent to immunity to an antimicrobial agent.

  • Acquired resistance is often the result of genetic mutation or the acquisition of tolerance genes from other organisms through horizontal gene transfer. However, it can also be the result of a stress reaction, e.g. through the formation of biofilms
  • A biofilm is a community of microorganisms attached to a surface and coated by extracellular polymeric substances (EPS). Biofilms can form in different environments, and therefore non-cellular materials such as soil and mineral crystals can also be present in a biofilm matrix. Bacteria in biofilms differ phenotypically and genetically and are more difficult to kill than their planktonic counterparts because the EPS limit direct contact between microbial cells in biofilms and antimicrobial agents. Persister cells are a phenotypically different subpopulation of cells in biofilms that are more tolerant to antimicrobials. Once removed from a biofilm and the protective EPS, most bacteria are as susceptible as other organisms that were not part of the biofilm.
  • Efflux pumps are able to transport a variety of different toxic compounds out of the cells and directly confer additional antimicrobial tolerance to the bacteria by expelling the disinfectants diffused into the cell into the external environment. They usually also improve tolerance to antimicrobials by promoting biofilm formation.
  • Genotypic resistance is a form of resistance that is encoded by specific genes. Such resistance genes can arise through mutation during mitosis (a process of cell duplication) and code for a system that can reduce the effectiveness of an antimicrobial agent (e.g. efflux pumps).

The different tolerance of microbes to disinfectants depends on various factors. For example, the different structure of the bacterial cell can lead to a different sensitivity to antimicrobial agents. In addition, there are bacteria that have the ability to form spores (e.g. Clostridioides difficile). This spore state gives the microorganisms increased resistance to certain chemicals or environmental influences (such as high temperatures).

Compatibility of disinfectants and sanitizers – does it affect the performance of such products?

For all antimicrobial agents, the concentration during use plays an important role in the risk of developing resistance or tolerance to the antimicrobial agent. Antimicrobial agents exert a selection pressure on microorganisms. When microorganisms are exposed to a high dose of antimicrobial agents (acute exposure), they are much less likely to develop resistance or tolerance. In contrast, chronic exposure to low doses of antimicrobials poses a higher risk of resistance, as such low but long-lasting selection pressure allows microorganisms to develop specific mechanisms for resistance and tolerance (Donaghy, 2019) (Kampf, 2019) (Weber, 2006).

Are there differences in the disinfectant active ingredients?

Quaternary ammonium chloride (Quat): Tolerance to Quat has been relatively well characterized. At concentrations above the minimum inhibitory concentration (MIC – minimum amount of biocide required for antimicrobial activity), quats destroy cell membranes. When Quats are used in concentrations below the MIC, the mode of action is complicated and always involves several processes such as alteration of cell membranes, overexpression of efflux pumps or acquisition of Quat-specific efflux genes. Although many efflux mechanisms that can induce tolerance to Quat can also induce resistance to antibiotics, it is not clear whether there is a causal relationship in which Quat use leads to antibiotic resistance or vice versa. Not surprisingly, there are a variety of Quat tolerance genes, and these genes may be widespread and relatively common. However, the effect of such genes on phenotypic tolerance is not clear. It is also not clear that quat tolerance genes have an effect on sublethal levels of quat. In general, tolerance genes do not appear to have an effect on tolerance to the recommended use levels of Quat detergents and disinfectants.

Oxidizing agents (chlorine, peracetic acid, hydrogen peroxide) act as denaturants of proteins by reacting with thiol and amino groups and thereby damaging cell structures, including the cell wall, membranes and nucleic acids.

Since oxidizing agents act indiscriminately on almost all cellular structures, resistance through specific genes and cellular processes is not to be expected and has not been proven in the literature. However, bacteria may be less susceptible to oxidative stress due to the formation of a biofilm or other phenotypic tolerance. Biofilm-forming microorganisms produce extracellular polymeric substances that attenuate the effect of oxidizing agents. Therefore, a higher concentration of oxidizing agent is usually required to kill microorganisms in biofilms. Some microorganisms produce the enzyme catalase, which converts hydrogen peroxide into oxygen and water and can provide intrinsic resistance to very low concentrations of H202. However, most disinfectants and sanitizers use peroxide at levels that can overcome inactivation by catalase.

The effectiveness of alcohol in killing vegetative bacteria is primarily due to the denaturation of proteins, with solutions containing 60-80% alcohol usually recommended (WHO, 2009). However, alcohol solutions are not effective antimicrobial agents against bacterial spores (WHO, 2009) (Boyce, 2018). A recent study by Pidot (2018) showed a different range of activity (10-fold range) of alcohol against different isolates of Enterococcus faecium, suggesting that tolerance or resistance mechanisms may exist. However, this study used a 23% isopropanol solution, which is well below the alcohol content we have just discussed, so the clinical significance of this result is uncertain. When the usual 70% alcohol solutions were used instead, the efficacy was as expected and the same for the different isolates. In a study by Tinajero (2019), no difference was found in the susceptibility of Enterococcus faecium isolates to alcohol after alcohol-based hand cleansers were introduced hospital-wide.

Alcohol-based surface disinfectants are usually formulated with other ingredients to increase efficacy and reduce adsorption to floors (Boyce, 2018). Alcohol-based disinfectants are poor cleaners, evaporate quickly and are often flammable, making them a poor choice for general surface disinfection (Boyce, 2018). Their biocidal efficacy is known to be compromised by the presence of soils, particularly protein-based soils (Boyce, 2018) (WHO, 2009). The use of an alcohol-based disinfectant would be expected to pre-clean surfaces, which in turn would affect the amount of microorganisms remaining on the surface. It is therefore uncertain whether the results of Pidot (2018) have any practical significance for hand hygiene or surface disinfection.

Conclusion

In recent years, several published studies have shown that bacteria can develop resistance not only to antibiotics, but also to disinfectants and sanitizers. However, the publications mainly associate this with the active substance QUAT and long-term sublethal exposure, which is not used in practice. In addition, for the reasons mentioned in this article, special consideration must also be given to biofilms. In any case, there is a need for further research in these areas.

References

  • Boyce JM. Alkohole als Flächendesinfektionsmittel im Gesundheitswesen. Infect Cont and Hosp Epidemiol, 2018; 39 (3): 323-328.
  • Donaghy JA, Balamurugan J, Goodburn K, Grunwald L, Jensen AJ, Kanagachandran K, LaFforgue H, Seefelder W, Quentin MC. Beziehung zwischen Desinfektions-, Desinfektions- und Reinigungsmitteln und antimikrobieller Resistenz. J Food Prot. 2019; 82(5): 889-902.
  • Kampf G. Adaptive bacterial response to low level chlorhexidine exposure and its implications for hand hygiene. Microbial Cell. 2019; 6(7): 307-320.
  • Pidot SJ, Gao W, Buultjens AH, Monk IR, Guerillot R, Carter GP, et. al. Increasing tolerance of hospital Enterococcus faecium to handwash alcohols. Science Translational Medicine. 2018; 10: eaar6115.
  • Tinajero CG, Bobadilla-Del Valle M, Alvarez JA, Mosqueda JL, De Leon AP, Macias AE. Die Empfindlichkeit von Vancomycin-resistentem Enterococcus faecium gegenüber Isopropylalkohol vor und nach der Einführung des alkoholischen Händewaschens in einem Krankenhaus. Am J of Infect Cont. 2019; 47: e-27-29.
  • Weber DJ, Rutala WA. Verwendung von Keimtötenden Mitteln im Haushalt und im Gesundheitswesen: Besteht ein Zusammenhang zwischen der Verwendung von Keimtötenden Mitteln und der Antibiotikaresistenz? Infect Cont and Hosp Epidemiol. 2006; 27(10): 1107-1119.
  • Weltgesundheitsorganisation. WHO-Leitlinien zur Händehygiene in der Gesundheitsversorgung. WHO Press. 2009; Genf, Schweiz.
Anzahl Likes:0

Tell us what you think

Be the first to comment this post.

You must be logged in to leave a comment.

Our platform partners share their knowledge and high-quality products on Hygieneforum.ch - we introduce our platform partners.

To the partnerships
Emergency
Hygiene emergency
Emergency
Hygiene emergency

26.01.24

Tolérance aux désinfectants : ampleur et impact sur les performances

Les agents antimicrobiens sont utilisés depuis plus de 100 ans, tels que les antibiotiques pour les animaux, les plantes et les humains, ainsi que les désinfectants pour les surfaces et la peau. Certains microbes développent une résistance à ces agents, ce qui suscite des inquiétudes quant au développement de la résistance aux biocides. Alors que les résistances aux antibiotiques sont bien documentées, la tolérance aux désinfectants est moins connue. Dans cet article, nous expliquons la différence entre la résistance aux antibiotiques et celle aux désinfectants, ainsi que leurs impacts.

Shutterstock 274285679

Différences entre la résistance aux antibiotiques et la résistance aux désinfectants

Dans les médias et, dans une moindre mesure, dans d’autres ouvrages, on ne fait guère de distinction entre la résistance aux différentes classes d’antimicrobiens, ce qui entraîne une certaine confusion quant à savoir si la résistance à un agent est liée à la résistance aux autres agents. Beaucoup pensent que la résistance aux antibiotiques est la même que la résistance aux désinfectants et aux détergents et qu’une solution qui s’attaque à la résistance à un antimicrobien s’applique également aux autres. Contrairement aux antibiotiques, les problèmes de résistance sont beaucoup moins fréquents avec les désinfectants, car les deux reposent sur des mécanismes différents. Tandis que les antibiotiques agissent spécifiquement sur certains processus biologiques du métabolisme des bactéries, les désinfectants agissent de manière non spécifique sur l’ensemble des structures biologiques de la cellule. Il n’est donc pas surprenant que les bactéries puissent modifier ces sites d’attaque spécifiques (des antibiotiques) par des mutations. Cependant, les cellules bactériennes sont beaucoup moins capables de s’adapter et de se protéger contre l’attaque des désinfectants.

Qu’est-ce qui provoque la tolérance antibactérienne et comment se développe-t-elle ?

Même si les adaptations des microbes aux désinfectants sont moins bien décrites, on connaît certains mécanismes qui permettent une certaine tolérance. Il convient toutefois de faire tout d’abord la distinction entre résistance et tolérance. La tolérance est souvent un niveau inférieur d’insensibilité, rarement totale. Ce faible niveau d’insensibilité se distingue de la résistance, qui est un niveau élevé d’insensibilité et peut s’apparenter à une immunité à un agent antimicrobien.

  • La résistance acquise résulte souvent d’une mutation génétique ou de l’acquisition de gènes de tolérance d’autres organismes par transfert horizontal de gènes. Elle peut également être le résultat d’une réaction au stress, par exemple par la formation de biofilms
  • Un biofilm est une communauté de micro-organismes associés à une surface et enveloppés de substances polymères extracellulaires (EPS). Les biofilms peuvent se former dans différents environnements et, par conséquent, des matériaux non cellulaires tels que la terre et les cristaux minéraux peuvent également être présents dans une matrice de biofilm. Les bactéries présentes dans les biofilms diffèrent phénotypiquement et génétiquement et sont plus difficiles à tuer que leurs homologues planctoniques, car les EPS limitent le contact direct entre les cellules microbiennes des biofilms et les agents antimicrobiens. Les cellules persistantes sont une sous-population phénotypiquement différente de cellules dans les biofilms, plus tolérantes aux agents antimicrobiens. Une fois qu’elles ont été retirées d’un biofilm et de l’EPS qui les protège, la plupart des bactéries sont aussi vulnérables que les autres organismes qui ne faisaient pas partie du biofilm.
  • Les pompes à efflux sont capables de transporter une multitude de composés toxiques différents hors des cellules et de conférer directement aux bactéries une tolérance supplémentaire aux agents antimicrobiens en expulsant dans l’environnement extérieur les désinfectants diffusés dans la cellule. En règle générale, ils améliorent également la tolérance aux antimicrobiens en favorisant la formation de biofilms.
  • La résistance génotypique est une forme de résistance codée par des gènes spécifiques. De tels gènes de résistance peuvent apparaître par mutation au cours de la mitose (un processus de duplication cellulaire) et coder pour un système qui peut réduire l’efficacité d’un antimicrobien (par exemple, les pompes à efflux).

La tolérance variable des microbes aux désinfectants dépend de différents facteurs. Par exemple, la structure différente de la cellule bactérienne peut entraîner une sensibilité différente aux antimicrobiens. En outre, certaines bactéries ont la capacité de former des spores (par exemple, Clostridioides difficile). Cet état de spores confère aux micro-organismes une résistance accrue à certains produits chimiques ou à certaines influences environnementales (telles que des températures élevées).

Compatibilité des désinfectants – a-t-elle un impact sur la performance de tels produits ?

Pour tous les antimicrobiens, la concentration lors de l’utilisation joue un rôle important dans le risque de développement d’une résistance ou d’une tolérance à l’antimicrobien. Les antimicrobiens exercent une pression sélective sur les micro-organismes. Lorsque les micro-organismes sont exposés à une forte dose d’antimicrobiens (exposition aiguë), la probabilité qu’ils développent une résistance ou une tolérance est beaucoup plus faible. En revanche, une exposition chronique à de faibles doses d’antimicrobiens présente un risque de résistance plus élevé, car une telle pression de sélection, faible mais durable, permet aux micro-organismes de développer des mécanismes spécifiques de résistance et de tolérance (Donaghy, 2019) (Kampf, 2019) (Weber, 2006).

Y a-t-il des différences entre les principes actifs des désinfectants ?

Chlorure d’ammonium quaternaire (Quat) : la tolérance aux Quat a été relativement bien caractérisée. A des concentrations supérieures à la concentration minimale inhibitrice (CMI – quantité minimale de biocide nécessaire pour obtenir un effet antimicrobien), les quats détruisent les membranes cellulaires. Lorsque les quats sont utilisés à des concentrations inférieures à la CMI, le mode d’action est compliqué et implique toujours plusieurs processus tels que la modification des membranes cellulaires, la surexpression des pompes d’efflux ou l’acquisition de gènes d’efflux spécifiques aux quats. Bien que de nombreux mécanismes d’efflux pouvant entraîner une tolérance au quat puissent également entraîner une résistance aux antibiotiques, il n’est pas clair s’il existe un lien de cause à effet dans lequel l’utilisation du quat entraîne une résistance aux antibiotiques ou inversement. Il n’est pas surprenant qu’il existe un grand nombre de gènes de tolérance au quat, et ces gènes peuvent être largement répandus et relativement fréquents. Cependant, l’effet de tels gènes sur la tolérance phénotypique n’est pas clair. Il n’est pas non plus clair que les gènes de tolérance au quat aient une influence sur les quantités sublétales de quat. En général, les gènes de tolérance ne semblent pas avoir d’influence sur la tolérance aux niveaux d’application recommandés des détergents et désinfectants à base de quat.

Les oxydants (chlore, acide peracétique, peroxyde d’hydrogène) agissent comme dénaturants des protéines en réagissant avec les groupes thiol et amino, endommageant ainsi les structures cellulaires, y compris la paroi cellulaire, les membranes et les acides nucléiques.

Étant donné que les agents oxydants agissent sans distinction sur presque toutes les structures cellulaires, il ne faut pas s’attendre à une résistance par des gènes et des processus cellulaires spécifiques, et cela n’a pas été démontré dans la littérature. Cependant, les bactéries peuvent être moins sensibles au stress oxydatif en formant un biofilm ou en présentant une autre tolérance phénotypique. Les micro-organismes formant un biofilm produisent des substances polymériques extracellulaires qui atténuent l’effet des agents oxydants. Par conséquent, une concentration plus élevée d’oxydant est généralement nécessaire pour tuer les micro-organismes des biofilms. Certains micro-organismes produisent une enzyme, la catalase, qui transforme le peroxyde d’hydrogène en oxygène et en eau et peut offrir une résistance intrinsèque à de très faibles concentrations de H202. Cependant, la plupart des désinfectants et des désinfectants utilisent du peroxyde à des niveaux qui peuvent surmonter l’inactivation par la catalase.

L’efficacité de l’alcool dans l’élimination des bactéries végétatives est principalement due à la dénaturation des protéines, les solutions contenant 60 à 80 % d’alcool étant généralement recommandées (OMS, 2009). Les solutions alcooliques ne sont toutefois pas des antimicrobiens efficaces contre les spores bactériennes (WHO, 2009) (Boyce, 2018). Une étude récente de Pidot (2018) a montré une plage d’action différente (plage de 10) de l’alcool contre différents isolats d’Enterococcus faecium, ce qui suggère qu’il existe peut-être des mécanismes de tolérance ou de résistance. Cependant, dans cette étude, une solution d’isopropanol à 23% a été utilisée, ce qui est nettement inférieur à la teneur en alcool dont nous venons de parler, de sorte que la signification clinique de ce résultat est incertaine. Si l’on a utilisé à la place les solutions d’alcool à 70% habituelles, l’efficacité a été conforme aux attentes et identique pour les différents isolats. Dans une étude de Tinajero (2019), aucune différence n’a été observée dans la sensibilité des isolats d’Enterococcus faecium à l’alcool après l’introduction de produits de nettoyage des mains à base d’alcool dans l’ensemble de l’hôpital.

Les désinfectants pour surfaces à base d’alcool sont généralement formulés avec d’autres ingrédients afin d’augmenter leur efficacité et de réduire leur adsorption sur les sols (Boyce, 2018). Les désinfectants à base d’alcool sont de mauvais nettoyants, s’évaporent rapidement et sont souvent inflammables, ce qui en fait un mauvais choix pour la désinfection générale des surfaces (Boyce, 2018). On sait que leur efficacité biocide est réduite par la présence de souillures, en particulier de souillures à base de protéines (Boyce, 2018) (OMS, 2009). Si l’on utilisait un désinfectant à base d’alcool, on pourrait s’attendre à ce qu’un nettoyage préalable des surfaces soit effectué, ce qui aurait à son tour un impact sur la quantité de micro-organismes restant sur la surface. Il n’est donc pas certain que les résultats de Pidot (2018) aient une signification pratique pour l’hygiène des mains ou la désinfection des surfaces.

Résumé

Ces dernières années, plusieurs études publiées ont montré que les bactéries peuvent développer une résistance non seulement aux antibiotiques, mais aussi aux désinfectants et aux désinsectiseurs. Toutefois, ces publications associent principalement ce phénomène à la substance active QUAT et à une exposition sublétale à long terme, qui n’est pas utilisée dans la pratique. En outre, pour les raisons mentionnées dans cet article, les biofilms doivent également faire l’objet d’une attention particulière. En tout état de cause, des recherches supplémentaires sont nécessaires dans ces domaines.

Références

  • Boyce JM. Alkohole als Flächendesinfektionsmittel im Gesundheitswesen. Infect Cont and Hosp Epidemiol, 2018; 39 (3): 323-328.
  • Donaghy JA, Balamurugan J, Goodburn K, Grunwald L, Jensen AJ, Kanagachandran K, LaFforgue H, Seefelder W, Quentin MC. Beziehung zwischen Desinfektions-, Desinfektions- und Reinigungsmitteln und antimikrobieller Resistenz. J Food Prot. 2019; 82(5): 889-902.
  • Kampf G. Adaptive bacterial response to low level chlorhexidine exposure and its implications for hand hygiene. Microbial Cell. 2019; 6(7): 307-320.
  • Pidot SJ, Gao W, Buultjens AH, Monk IR, Guerillot R, Carter GP, et. al. Increasing tolerance of hospital Enterococcus faecium to handwash alcohols. Science Translational Medicine. 2018; 10: eaar6115.
  • Tinajero CG, Bobadilla-Del Valle M, Alvarez JA, Mosqueda JL, De Leon AP, Macias AE. Die Empfindlichkeit von Vancomycin-resistentem Enterococcus faecium gegenüber Isopropylalkohol vor und nach der Einführung des alkoholischen Händewaschens in einem Krankenhaus. Am J of Infect Cont. 2019; 47: e-27-29.
  • Weber DJ, Rutala WA. Verwendung von Keimtötenden Mitteln im Haushalt und im Gesundheitswesen: Besteht ein Zusammenhang zwischen der Verwendung von Keimtötenden Mitteln und der Antibiotikaresistenz? Infect Cont and Hosp Epidemiol. 2006; 27(10): 1107-1119.
  • Weltgesundheitsorganisation. WHO-Leitlinien zur Händehygiene in der Gesundheitsversorgung. WHO Press. 2009; Genf, Schweiz.
Anzahl Likes:0

Donnez-nous votre avis

Ecrire le premier commentaire sur cet article.

Sie müssen angemeldet sein, um einen Kommentar zu hinterlassen.

Urgence
Urgence hygiène
Urgence
Urgence hygiène